Rambling Romance Recs

Welcome, welcome, One and All. Join me for the wondrous segment I like to call Rambling Reader Recs!

Okay, maybe I don’t really call it that. But I could! Right?

 

Whatever. Let’s just do this. It’s February, the month of love. Amor, L’amour, Dragoste. We all love Love, right? Well maybe not. But you might. And if you do, have I got a list for you. Oh lord. Now I’m a poet. Let’s wash our hands of that and move on.

love-4

I won’t be tackling anything YA today. This will all be adult romance series. What you read all depends on what you’re looking for, I suppose.

 

Today: Romance series set in small towns! 😀 I’ve been reading romance novels non stop for days now. The quality of romance novels is vast and varied. There are truly some bad nuggets out there. But there are also some really great ones too!

Continue reading “Rambling Romance Recs”

Rambling Reviews: Ensnared by Rita Stradling

Time for another review, my little Ramblers! This time, it is a much more positive one! As a matter of fact, this lovely book is what got me out of the reading slump I’ve been in! Now for a little author bio:


Rita Stradling is the author of Making Bad Choices, The Deception Dance series, the Dakota Kekoa series and The Fourteen Day Soul Detox Novella Serial. She has a BA in Art History and a particular love for modern and medieval art. Rita lives with her husband and son in Northern California. She has an insatiable novel addiction and mostly reads young adult and adult: romance, paranormal, urban fantasy and high fantasy.

  • Ensnared
  • Rita Stradling
  • 270 pages (ebook format in Alkido app.)
  • ARC received through netgalley.
  • As yet unpublished. Currently up on kindle scout. (Link at end of post!)
  • A near future Beauty and the Beast retelling.


Goodreads Description:

Alainn’s father is not a bad man. He’s a genius and an inventor. When he’s hired to create the robot Rose, Alainn knows taking the money is a mistake. 

Rose acts like a human. She looks exactly like Alainn. But, something in her comes out wrong.

To save her father from a five year prison sentence, Alainn takes Rose’s place. She says goodbye to the sun and goes to live in a tower no human is allowed to enter. She becomes the prisoner of a man no human is allowed to see.

Believing that a life of servitude lies ahead, Alainn finds a very different fate awaits her in the company of the strange, scarred recluse.

To The Review!

Continue reading “Rambling Reviews: Ensnared by Rita Stradling”

Rambling Reviews: Poison by Sarah Pinborough

It’s review time! As you guys can probably tell, I haven’t read nearly as many fairy tale retellings as I had planned to. Unfortunately, this book is what led to my slump.

I haven’t only avoided fairy tale retellings, I haven’t read a single thing. (excluding a few pages of Death Note Black Edition, Vol 1.) So here’s why.

20890567According to Goodreads, Poison is a beautifully illustrated retelling of the Snow White story which takes all the elements of the classic fairy tale that we love (the handsome prince, the jealous queen, the beautiful girl and, of course, the poisoning) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires. It’s fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of Once Upon a Time, Grimm, Snow White and the Huntsman and more.

 

Now for the review.

Continue reading “Rambling Reviews: Poison by Sarah Pinborough”

Starfall Launch Blitz & Giveaway!

Hi, booklovers!

small-mel-picI’m author Melissa Landers, and I’m so excited to launch STARFALL, the second and final book in my Starflight duology! This story picks up shortly after the first book ends, but now Cassia and Kane are the main characters, with Doran, Solara, and the rest of the Banshee crew pitching in to help take down an intergalactic mafia. (You know, just an ordinary day in space.) And while saying goodbye to characters is never easy, I think I gave the crew a proper sendoff with plenty of humor, heart, and action. I hope you love STARFALL as much as I do!

Continue reading “Starfall Launch Blitz & Giveaway!”

Week One- Fairy Tale February

To start off my month of fairy tales, I’ve ended up checking out five, count them FIVE, ebooks from my library.

Two are Cinderella retellings, one is a retelling of the little mermaid, one of Snow White and the last is a reimagining of Snow White and Rose Red (which is actually a fairy tale I had never heard of!

This blog post will grow as I read each of the books and as I add new books throughout this week. I’ll make a new TBR post each week of February!

Continue reading “Week One- Fairy Tale February”

Five Book Test Drive

Hello Ramblers! Missed you, missed you, missed you. I’m a naughty blogger. I haven’t posted in MONTHS! But I’m back, with a lovely tag for you all!

I had big, big plans yesterday… The roads in my city iced over and were shut down, my husband started me a lovely fire in our big, old fireplace (seriously, old. It was here when my grandfather moved in with his family when he was a kid!) I made some hot cocoa for the kids, curled up on my couch….


And promptly fell asleep. Seriously. I didn’t read a single word.
But no worries! Today…oh today. We will be test driving five, yes FIVE, different books with the Try a Chapter Book Tag! This tag was originally created by BookParadise over on YouTube!
The goal is basically to choose five or more books you have been meaning to get to, read the entire first chapter (including the prologue if there is one), take a few notes if you happen to be blogging or recording this, and decide simply: yes or no!

I already happen to have five books that I had originally set aside to read contentedly by the fire today. So what better way to redeem myself that to use them for this challenge?

Let’s jump right in!

Continue reading “Five Book Test Drive”